074 Gurun Gurun 'Kon B'

Cat no: homen074
Artist: Gurun Gurun
Album: Kon B
Release Date: May 8th, 2015

Press Release:

Back in November 2010, the Czech group Gurun Gurun released their critically lauded self-titled debut on Home Normal. Named after a fictional planet from the old school Slovak childish sci-fi TV series She Came Out of the Blue Sky, their musical work combines guitars, analogue synthesizers, turntables, acoustic instruments and digital effects to span musical spaces ranging from hypno-minimalist atmospheres to warm tones of slow moving, repetitive melodic stanzas. The quirky nature and melodic structure of their debut was regarded as innately Japanese, which perhaps isnt surprising given that the album featured the unique talents of Moskitoo, Sawako, and Aki Tomita.

The quartet of Tomas Knoflicek, Jara Tarnovski, Ondrej Jezek, and Federsel have now followed this up over four years later with their sophomore album, Kon B. The album is another supremely collaborative effort with special guests Alexandr Vatagin on cello, Irena & Vojtech Havel on alto & tenor viola da gamba, Mikel Etxegarai on drums and percussion, and last but not least, the wonderful vocal talents of Japanese artists Cuushe, Cokiyu, and Miko.

We are so lucky to have the opportunity to present this amazingly weird and wonderful album with stunning artwork by one of the most talented and highly-sought artists around today in Angela Deane. Angelas continuing series of mysterious Ghost Photographsplay on the human condition of memories, and what exactly they mean to us. This idea of the unknown but connected plays beautifully with the fragile lines drawn throughout Kon B, as they play with peculiar experimentalism and gorgeous child-like magical melodies.

To coincide with the release of Kon Bwe are so happy to announce that Gurun Gurun will be taking their music in concert around the country of their seeming inspiration, and our home these past ten years now; Japan. We very much look forward to watching their weird and wonderful shows around the country after the great success of their show back in March 2014 at Cafe Oto in London.

Thank you.

On March the 14th the EP "Atarashii hi" will be released digitally through the Bandcamp page, featuring remixes by Mergrim, Pawn, Marihiko Hara, and Nanonum. All profits from this release will be going to the Tenohasi NPO (http://tenohasi.org/) who do amazing work for the increasing numbers of homeless people in Tokyo, including running a soup kitchen just around the corner from our home.

You can buy the EP here: https://homenormal.bandcamp.com/album/atarashii-hi-ep

Thank you.

Here's a wonderful film by Cristina Maldonado for 'Atarashii hi' by Gurun Gurun feat. Cuushe:





1. Atarashiihi
2. Aoi
3. Itsuka no Hoshi / Hia
4. Shizumeru / Kiikii
5. Koe / Sukuu
6. Mado
7. Tsukinite
8. Beda Folten Supasuta


Gurun Gurun:

Federsel electric & acoustic guitars, mandolin, banjo, diddley bow, bass guitar, keyboards, pivofon, glockenspiel, kalimba, piano, flutes, back vocals, fx, noises

Jara Tarnovski keyboards, programming & editing, sampling, field recordings, strings, acoustic guitar, mandolin, kan- tele, piano, flutes, vibraphone, glockenspiel, turntables, radio, percussion, fx, noises

Ondrej Jezek electric & acoustic guitars, time axis manipulator, theremin, piano, banjo, harmonica, percussion, back vocals, fx, noises

Tomas Knoflicek electric & acoustic guitars, programming & editing, keyboards, strings, glockenspiel, VLF, harmoni- um, percussion, back vocals, sampling, fx, noises

Special guests:

Alexandr Vatagin cello
Cokiyu vocals
Cuushe vocals
Irena & Vojtech Havel alto & tenor viola da gamba
Mikel Etxegarai drums, percussion
Miko vocals

All tracks composed by Gurun Gurun
Viola da gamba lines by Irena & Vojtech Havel (8)
Vocal lines by Tomas Knoflicek & Cokiyu, Cuushe, Miko
Lyrics by Cokiyu (7), Cuushe (1, 5), Miko (3)

Japanese language supervision by Yasuhiko Fukuzono
Track 1 contains sample of 'Improwizacja 04' written by Kossak / Wypych / Zakrocki (Iskry, 2003).
Track 5 contains samples of 'Sasu Spielt' written by Semuin (Neo Ouija, 2005) and 'Lettuce Opium' written by Vanessa Rossetto (Music Appreciation, 2008).

Recorded at Berlin, Fruiz, Pardubice, Prague, Ostrava, Tokyo and Vienna Mixed by Jara Tarnovski @ CSN
Mastered by Ondrej Jezek @ jaMor (www.jamor.org)
Artwork by Angela Deane

Design by Christian Roth and Jara Tarnovski

Downloadable Sampler(Press the button to stream. Click through to download):