054 Islands Of Light 'Ruebke'


Cat no: homen054 Artist: Islands Of Light Album: Ruebke Release Date: 26/09/14 Format: CD in four panel card pack

Visit Microsite: http://www.islandsoflightruebke.tumblr.com

Press Release:

Islands Of Light is the work of Vienna-based artist Dino Spiluttini. He is the founder of Beatismurder Records and the co-founder of Total Light Records, as well as being a superb designer, illustrator, and photographer. He recently released a superb split release with our mutual friend, Nils Quak, on the excellent Umor Rex label, and later in the year he will be releasing with Jehu & Chinaman.

His work as Islands Of Light is a wholly different affair from the irreverent drone work under his own name, with piano being the main base for his beautifully tender and rustic sound. ‘Ruebke’ is the sound of season’s change, of shorter days and longer nights, of the hush of autumn as it takes its hold. As the beauteous distorted elements and graininess takes it hold, the piano melodies slow everything down to a turn of constant low light and fragile quietude.

After a period of adjustments and careful editing, ‘Ruebke’ was finally mastered in June 2014, a particularly heavy rainy season here in Japan. Outside our house is a beautiful river that rises to a height that from our studio we can see that patter of raindrops slowly work their magic on the river’s raised surface. As I listened to the final masters whirl away on a very lovely reel-to-reel, the tubes glowed, the reels wobbled as they have a tendency to, and the rain continued. It was one of those rare moments where everything just fit; a moment of timeless perfection. This encompasses exactly what Islands Of Light’s ‘Ruebke’ achieves through its melodic developments and grainy surfaces; the sound of the soul’s ardour.

Finally, Dino directed a super little film for the track Praeludium which you can see if you go to this link or see the film direclty below: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hMMmaCSANi4

Thank you


Written, played and programmed by Dino Spiluttini 2009 - 2012 

Artwork by Dino Spiluttini

Mastered by Ian Hawgood 





01 Praeludium 02 Goerde 03 Bodil 04 Saendscho 05 Honung 06 Schlump 07 Heisternest 08 Muemmelmannsberg 09 Boris 10 Heimfeld 11 Gypta 12 Joses

Buy CD:

Japan: HN Store | Bandcamp | Big Cartel | Linus Records | P*Dis | Tower Records

UK: Norman Records | Stashed Goods

Europe: A-Musik | Morr 

Buy Digital:

Boomkat | Morr Music | iTunes | Amazon | Beatport | Juno | 7digital